squishy squash

Every year we go on a north trip (refer to my past posts) and this year, at one of our stops, we purchased some squash, which were $1 each, which I thought was a really good price compared to Hy-Vee, there they were $1.88 each! Squash is a tradition in our (immediate) family and every year we go through about 10 whole squash. However there are many different kinds of squash, from acorn, delicata, golden nugget, sweet dumpling, to banana, buttercup, spaghetti, or butternut and many more, my favorite is the acorn and butternut. I’ve never had squash anywhere else besides in my home, so I’m not sure if it’s really popular or not. (I would love to find out so comment below!)

Either way today I’m writing about how we prepare to eat them (which is the best way!) in my household.

 

For the Acorn or Butternut Squash, to prepare them, wash, halve (lengthwise for the butternut) and remove seeds.

Next, place the squash halves, cut sides down, in a baking dish.

Bake in a 350 degrees oven for 30 minutes.

Turn cut sides up, put in 1-2 tablespoons of butter (or more depending how much butter you like) in the hole parts, then bake, covered, for 20-25 minutes more or until tender.

Once done, they’ll be hot and be careful! Additionally, depending on your taste, try adding some brown sugar, if you have a sweet tooth, or add some salt for a different taste. Personally I like the salt better, and the way it melts in my mouth just makes me want more!

 

Squash is beneficial for you and your body. According to the Best Health Magazine, squash can help you get more vitamins, by strengthening your bone growth, vision, and reproduction. Squash can also prevent cancer cells, avoid cataracts, cut risks of gallstones, control blood pressure and finally help you load up on protein, all of that is really good for your body!

Fall is a great time to try out new foods, from home-grown to home-made, especially foods that you don’t usually eat and that are good for you and your body to keep you healthy throughout the winter!

Published by

mckennaleah

college student, with a complicated life of which I am trying to let my stress and feelings out here to help me understand myself and my life.

Leave a Reply

