pumpkin cookies

In our household it’s a tradition every fall, in addition to the squash (in the previous post), that my mom makes really good, addicting pumpkin cookies. However it’s not just one kind, there are two kinds of delicious cookies she makes! Pumpkin cookies with frosting, and pumpkin chocolate chip cookies…Mmm! This year I had to work one saturday afternoon, and little did I know that evening I was going to come home to my whole kitchen filled with all of these cookies! The cookies were all over the tables and counters, the sink and even a couple chairs! When my mom bakes some cookies, she has to make more than one batch at a time! The nice thing is, when my mom makes big batches like that, she gets about 5-7 plates together of the cookies that she has made and we send them with our friends home, or to my grandma and grandpa, which is special for them because they get to eat the delicious-ness and we are happy because my mom and I share the quality of giving, it makes us happy when we give away anything, whether it’s presents or homemade or bought prepared food, to make other people happy!

Anyway I thought that I would share these recipes with you, because I would like the whole world to try these smile-makers!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup vegetable/canola oil
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans/walnuts (optional)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ginger

Directions

Beat together sugar, pumpkin, oil, and vanilla in a bowl. Gradually stir in dry ingredients, blend in chocolate chips and nuts (optional). Spoon on and bake on cookie sheet at 35o degrees for 12-15 minutes. Makes approx. 2 dozen cookies.

 

Pumpkin Cookies (with frosting that’s to die for!)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 3/4 cup crisco
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup pumpkin
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

Cream together shortening and margarine, then gradually add sugar and beat well. Add pumpkin and egg, beat well. Sift together dry ingredients and add to pumpkin mixture. Mix in vanilla. Drop by teaspoon onto greased baking sheet. Bake 12 minutes at 350 degrees.

Frosting directions:

Boil together for 2 minutes, 3 Tablespoons butter, 1/4 cup milk, 1/2 cup light brown sugar. Cool. Add enough powdered sugar for good spreading.

(TIP: it is easier to put the frosting on right away as it’s still warm so it’s easier to spread, so don’t wait too long so it gets hard!)

Published by

mckennaleah

college student, with a complicated life of which I am trying to let my stress and feelings out here to help me understand myself and my life.

Leave a Reply

